Rog
The Self-Proclaimed Voice of Reason
meble-kuchenne.warszawa.pl
Has liked: 19 times
Been liked: 66 times

Eric Clapton Mission Concert

Post by Rog »

Last night I sang with Eric Clapton!!

Of course, so did 26,000 others, but I was the best :)

For me, a thoroughly enjoyable show at a good volume.

Warning ~ personal opinion review follows - ymmv.

The night started with 4 young mainly acoustics + vocals singers. Although there was some talent there, basically very few people seemed interested in listening to them - Next!

Next was Pearl, with our own Crushing Day holding the guitar work down. As expected, Iain's work was sublime. Sensitive to the song, beautifully pitched to assist the song, rather than combat it. I like that - a lot! Props also from me to the drummer. We normally don't praise drummers, but being a bassist, I can feel when there's a bloody good drummer on board and imo, he was very fine. Iain, please pass along my appreciation of his work.

The mix was such that the bassist didn't power through to my satisfaction, so I wasn't able to hear enough of him. The keyboard player was, to me, a normal keys player, well talented but not particularly outstanding. The band was, of course, all about the two girl singers. They had plenty of energy and seemed to be good writers, but unfortunately, I very quickly tired of their constant 2 part harmony. They started with the normal call to "rock and roll", but r'n'r they didn't. After the second or third song, I'd had enough and judging by the chants of "get off" & "next" from the younger people around me, so had they. This was a shame, becuause I really wanted to like them, due to Iain's involvement - it seems disloyal to find them boring vocally, somehow. Maybe the PA was to blame, as the vocals sounded really bad from where I was.

Then the act everyone was there to see - EC.