Ashton
meble-kuchenne.warszawa.pl
Has liked: 296 times
Been liked: 90 times

Rocket Fuzz - Drive control question

Post by Shimmer »

I am currently breadboarding this very cool fuzz
http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/eff ... es/rocket/
I have so far omitted the Drive control, because when I hooked it up as shown, it didn't seem to work as expected. In fact it seemed to act more like a volume control. Is it specified correctly? I am pretty new to pedal building and cant figure out what the Drive pot is actually meant to achieve.
Cheers
Andrew
Attachments
ADD_DESCRIPTION
ADD_DESCRIPTION
I want all the pedals!

Snarblinge
Ashton
Ashton
Has liked: 34 times
Been liked: 43 times

Re: Rocket Fuzz - Drive control question

Post by Snarblinge »

Did you use a 50k pot? The drive I like a pre amp volume, the first transistor is a little gain, the drive controls the level fed into the second stage, where the fun happens, hotter signal in creates more chaos, just like hotter pickups drive fuzz harder. So kinda like a volume. How does it sound without the drive control? You may have a problem in the distorting part of e circuit if the drive wasn't really working.
b.

Snarblinge
Ashton
Ashton

Post by Snarblinge »

Looks like the drive was a mod that should never have been implemented. Leave it out and move on. If it sounds good box it.
b.

Shimmer
Ashton
Ashton

Post by Shimmer »

Snarblinge wrote:Did you use a 50k pot? The drive I like a pre amp volume, the first transistor is a little gain, the drive controls the level fed into the second stage, where the fun happens, hotter signal in creates more chaos, just like hotter pickups drive fuzz harder. So kinda like a volume. How does it sound without the drive control? You may have a problem in the distorting part of e circuit if the drive wasn't really working.