Pickups out of phase, worth it?

Talk about your Burstbuckers and Seymour Duncans....

Moderators: Slowy, Capt. Black

RuBear
Gibson
meble-kuchenne.warszawa.pl

Pickups out of phase, worth it?

Post by RuBear »

I'm debating with ash over my heilos pickup options, a while ago I decided on each bucker having a 3-way switch for series/parallel/single coil. My latest question was wether its worth having the option to the pickups out of phase with each other. Note: I mean two pickups out of phase with each other, not one humbucker with each coil wired out of phase with each other. Adrian says he doesn't find it useful and I have little to no experience with it.

What do you guys think? It would probably mean I would have to change the 3-way pickup selector to a 5-way, or else add another switch to the guitar, which is kinda annoying when it already has 3 3-ways, but at the end of the day I want to be able to access any settings that are useful to me.

So my question is, do you think an in/out phase switch is worth it/usable? In particular Capt. Black and Tsuken your opinions would be great.

Cheers,
Rupert the Beer
Last edited by RuBear on Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ok I got rid of my Foal quote, but I found a new one.
foal30 wrote:some 80's metal makes me want to dress up like a woman, just like they did back in the day.
is this sort of what you mean?

sopachrga
Vintage Post Junkie
Vintage Post Junkie
Has liked: 16 times
Been liked: 59 times

Re: Pickups out of phase, worth it?

Post by sopachrga »

I'm not on your list but anyway.

I've got my humbucker wired like that on my RG,
It's basically useless. Sounds completly tinny and nothing like a single coil.
I can't see anytime that you would actually use the sound, I would just go for coil taps.
Ummm....

Pakehendrix
Big Muff

Post by Pakehendrix »

+1.