Moderators: Slowy, Capt. Black

Rog
The Self-Proclaimed Voice of Reason
meble-kuchenne.warszawa.pl
Has liked: 19 times
Been liked: 66 times

Pinch Harmonics

Post by Rog »

As you know, I'm a relative newbie to guitar and surely the worst guitarist on this site.

When I'm playing some leads (particularly at high gain - crunch) I get that little squeal of pinch harmonics, but they are a delightful and seemingly random happenstance for me.

I'd like to be able to better control when these occur.

I take it they can only be produced at certain frets - where natural harmonics exist?

How do you experts produce these to order?
He hit a chord that rocked the spinet and disappeared into the infinite ...

philipnz
PRS
PRS
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 37 times

Post by philipnz »

I love them. You can do them anywhere i think. I do it by pinching the string between the pick and my finger. Its very subtle and i certainly havent mastered it. But its a cool sound.
Never put down to malice what can adequately be explained by stupidity

Bg
Site Admin
Has liked: 2269 times
Been liked: 3923 times

Post by Bg »

It happens when I hit the string with my pick and the edge of my thumb almost instantaneously. It is one aspect of the gat that I have mastered ;) It does seem to work best around about the middle of the fretboard up to about the 12th fret for me, and with high gain - but I can pretty much do it on all notes in between...
So, is that low alcohol or no alcohol at all? mmmm, no alcohol, do you want to try it? Noooooooooo.

TMG 03
Vintage Post Junkie
Vintage Post Junkie

Post by TMG 03 »

THe G note on the bottom E string is a great pinched harmonic.

Very Zakk wylde. :P

Tsuken
In the Name of Vai

Post by Tsuken »