Buying in LA: Pt 2 - now with 100% more annoying questions

All things guitar, Les Pauls, Strats, Teles, Tokai, Ibanez etc. etc. etc.

Moderators: Slowy, Capt. Black

hamo
Vintage Post Junkie
Vintage Post Junkie
meble-kuchenne.warszawa.pl
Has liked: 645 times
Been liked: 814 times

Buying in LA: Pt 2 - now with 100% more annoying questions

Post by hamo »

Hi guys, I'm back with more annoying questions. Basically I'm a bit of a novice at buying gear, and being as this'll be the last time until we win Powerball that the wife let's me spend money on a guitar, I want to get it right. I'm also a bit of a hermit and don't know too many other players that I can talk to, especially ones that won't just try to sell me the axe that they're currently trying to hock.

In the interests of trying to keep this post shorter than the collected works of Tolstoy, I'll split this into two topics. In this one I'll ask about the relative merits of the guitars I'm looking at and for any suggestions that I haven't listed. I'll do a different thread to ask about pickups. :D

So, here goes:

Epiphone Les Paul Studio (Goth or Chameleon)
ESP LTD EC200
Schecter Damien FR
Schecter Gryphon Limited Edition Flametop
ESP LTD Alexi 200 Electric Guitar
ESP LTD KH-203 Kirk Hammett Signature Guitar
Michael Kelly Patriot Shadow
Dean Razorback DB
Jackson KVX10 X King V
Epiphone 56 Goldtop
Schechter Tempest A-10 Warthog
Tony Iommi Signature SG
PRS Tremonti SE
RR3 Randy Rhoads Electric Guitar (Ivory w/pinstripes)
PRS SE Custom
ESP H500 LTD Electric Guitar (See Thru Black with EMGs)
ESP LTD Eclipse EC500S Electric Guitar
Dean Dime Shadow ML
Schechter S-1 Bada-Bling
Zakk Wylde Les Paul Custom (outside the price range, but I really liked it - might try to buy used)

I intend spending no more than $850NZ. If I could afford a PRS Navarro we wouldn't be having this conversation. :wink: